Inside Athletics

Bismarck State Welcomes the Class of 2016 Hall of Fame Inductees

Bismarck State Welcomes the Class of 2016 Hall of Fame Inductees

Tanya Bullhead was an outstanding scorer and team player for the Mystics during the 1995-96 season. Tanya played for Coach Janet Erhardt.

From Fort Yates, North Dakota, Tanya led the Mystics to a 15-15 record averaging 17.3 points, 6 assists, and 2.8 steals per game. The Mystics won the NDJC Title and the NJCAA Region XIII Championship by beating NDSU-Bottineau 88-69, while advancing to the district game where they were runners-up to Kankakee Community College.

Tanya’s awards included NJCAA All-American honors, NDJC All-State, All-Region XIII, Mon-Dak All Conference, Quarterback Collegiate Athlete of the Year, and the Mon-Dak Conference Academic Team.

Tanya went on to play for NCAA Division I Wright State University in Fairborn, Ohio.  Tanya was a two-year starter for the WSU Raiders of the Horizon League.

The 1975-76 men’s basketball team was the third Mystic basketball team to advance to the NJCAA National Tournament in Hutchinson, Kansas. Coach Bruce Meland’s squad finished with a 16-13 season record, despite playing for only the second season in the always tough North Dakota Collegiate Athletic Conference. The NDCAC was comprised of the five four-year NAIA teams – Jamestown College, Dickinson State, Mayville State, Minot State and Valley City State, along with Bismarck State and North Dakota State College of Science.

The Mystics defeated Williston State College 92-90 to claim the NDJC State Championship and Normandale (MN) Community College 79-75 in the Region XIII championship game to advance to the national tournament. The Mystics defeated Casper (WY) Community College 63-58 in the first round of the national tournament. Columbia (TN) Community College defeated the Mystics 73-63 in the second round before the Mystics fell to Henry Ford (MI) College in their final game of the season.

1975-76 team members: Perry Ford, Dave Lawlor, Dave Albrecht, Dave Glaser, John Miller, Gary Miller, Jim Christianson, Mark Lynne, James Crudup, Bruce Mork, and Coaches Bruce Meland and Paul Swanson. Pictured from left to right above: Dave Glaser, Jim Christianson, Dave Lawlor, Dave Albrecht, and Perry Ford.

Hall of Fame Inductees to date.

The Bismarck State College Athletic Department is proud of our outstanding student-athletes, coaches, staff members, and contributors who have been superior examples in their roles for BSC/BJC athletics. Below you will find a list of those people who have been inducted to the BSC Athletic Hall of Fame to date.

If you know of someone who may be eligible for induction please contact us.